The Humane and Natural Goal of Life: To Be Happy

If you go up to person one day on the street and asked them, “Hi, what’s your goal in life?”, what do you suppose they would respond with. Maybe one woman leaving her job as a barista at Starbucks will reply with a laugh, “To survive high school.” Maybe the man with a scarf wrapped around his neck loosely with a black fedora propped on the top of his head will make you think with a flat and scarring, “To do what I should’ve done a long time ago.” But if this happened to me, I’d answer with two different but very simple phrases of advice: To be happy in life, and to reach my goals.

I can practically hear the crowd of critics in the back ground: BORING!

But really, think about everything you’ve ever done in your life and try to think (really guys, THINK!) “Did this really help me out in the end? Did this really help me become happy?”

Maybe using the word ‘happy’ makes this seem really stupid. Well, then I shall look up some synonyms for happy and let you guys pick your favorites to use~

Blessed, blest, blissful, blithe, can’t complain, captivated, cheerful, chipper, chirpy, content, contented, convivial, delighted, ecstatic, elated, exultant, flying high, gay, glad, gleeful, gratified, intoxicated, jolly, joyful, joyous, jubilant, laughing, light, lively, looking good, merry, mirthful, on cloud nine, overjoyed, peaceful, peppy perky, playful, pleasant, pleased, sparkling, sunny, thrilled, tickled, tickled pink, up, upbeat, and walking on air. (Source: http://www.thesaurus.com)

Now, to be [insert word of your choice to substitute “happy”, if you so please] you must be so free and careless that you basically don’t give to pumpernickels about anything! So my goal in life is to be simply and artlessly happy and content with my life. I want to wake up and smile just to smile. I wish to wake up and turn to see the one person in the world that will always love me know matter what I choose to do and dare to say. I want to be so happy that when someone asks me why I’m smiling or dancing around, I look at them with mad grin and say boldly, “Well I didn’t even know I was doing it.”

Thanks for reading

Best of luck,

The Time traveling Writer.

One thought on “The Humane and Natural Goal of Life: To Be Happy

Leave a Reply

