Dorothy Must Die by Danielle Paige:: Book Review

So this is my first ever book review and I am so excited!! So here goes nothing:


Book Title: 

Dorothy Must Die 


Book Cover:

Dorothy Must Die Book Cover


Author:

Danielle Paige


Goodreads Synopsis:

I didn’t ask for any of this. I didn’t ask to be some kind of hero.

But when your whole life gets swept up by a tornado – taking you with it – you have no choice but to go along, you know?

Sure, I’ve read the books. I’ve seen the movies. I know the song about the rainbow and the happy little bluebirds. But I never expected Oz to look like this. To be a place where Good Witches can’t be trusted, Wicked Witches may just be the good guys, and winged monkeys can be executed for acts of rebellion. There’s still a yellow brick road – but even that’s crumbling.

What happened? Dorothy.

They say she found a way to come back to Oz. They say she seized power and the power went to her head. And now no one is safe.

My name is Amy Gumm – and I’m the other girl from Kansas.

I’ve been recruited by the Revolutionary Order of the Wicked.

I’ve been trained to fight.

And I have a mission.


Goodreads Rating:

3.85


Page Number Count:

452


Chapter Number Count:

Thirty four


My Review:

For awhile, all me and my best friend Gracen could talk about was the musical Wicked that was- conveniently for us being the little n00b bookworms that we were (now we are epic bookdragons)- was based off of the book by Gregory Maguire. One day were in the library talking to our librarian about what books we thought they should add to the library when the topic between Dorothy Must Die come to subject. I was immediately interested and was dying to know more. Lucky for me about two or three weeks later (I think), I was in Target while my mom was getting a massage and I found Dorothy Must Die in the book section. After asking my mom and also buying one or two dresses (the only ones I have ever owned and actually liked, I think), I was tearing threw this thing every time I picked it up.

Now it did take me awhile to read, but it was only because of how busy I was at the time and how thick that book is. But let me tell you this: No matter how long it is, you will never bored with this book. You will cry at certain characters’ deaths (someone always has to die in a YA book these days. Always.) and you will fall in love with some male characters, and you will definitely be frustrated with Amy (the main protagonist who is kick-butt awesome and totally a kick-butt mofo) but you will also feel sorry for her, understand her, ad laugh at her awesome sarcasm which all throughout the book.

From Amy’s somewhat-tragic-back-story to her grit-your-teeth-and-make-it-through attitude to her awesome pink hair (I know right?!), she is definitely my favorite character. It’s only maybe thirty minutes into her being in Oz and she’s already believing it. Amy, along with her mom’s pet rat named Star, meet a munchkin named Indigo who is totally kick-butt, Further into the book you meet some of Dorothy’s friends, like the Cowardly Lion who isn’t so cowardly and the Tin Man who has taken that heart of his and made it into something new. And Amy’s love interest, a young wizard named Nox- now their is another snarky and arrogant male love interest for you. I love him, but his type in YA books is just getting repetitive and annoying. And basically you will all probably hate Dorothy and be surprised with how Danielle Paige twisted this character. Definitely something… different.

Now for some warnings:

This book is more tame with cussing except for one side character who is there for about three or four chapters, but other than her it’s not so bad. The more sexual stuff is practically nonexistent, but there is a pregnant side character who is only there for really the first chapter.No drinking, drugs, or smoking. Amy is a wonderful role model for older girls going through tough times; she does have a fiery temper and does make some reckless decisions, but she mainly believes that there must be a way to keep fighting for what is right and win. Some positive messages all throughout the book is that even though some people in your life can hurt you and seem like they have no feelings at all, you should never fully give up on them; power corrupts, and absolute power corrupts absolutely; even the innocent can be turned evil; and that home is where your heart is, not where you necessarily physically live.


My Rating:

* * * * *

Five Stars. I loved it, you’ll love it, she’ll love it, he’ll love it, it’ll love it; EVERYBODY WILL LOVE IT. And if you do not, I humbly respect your opinion.

Just kidding!


Have you read this book? Did you like it? Did my review help you, and maybe make you want to read it? Leave your opinion in the comments below!

Home is where your books are,

The Time Traveling Writer

9 thoughts on “Dorothy Must Die by Danielle Paige:: Book Review

  1. This was an interesting take on Oz, I think. But I still can’t figure out where in the Oz-Universe it takes place. Because it mentioned things that happened in later books, but at the same time I got the feeling that it takes place a little after Ozma of Oz and is ignoring the rest of the books. I’m not quite sure.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

