The Coffee Book Tag

Hello my little internet hermits! A awhile ago I was tagged for this magnificent tag (that I have been dying to do for a really long time actually) by the lovely, the one and only, the wonderful: Writing On A Vintage Typewriter. So like, doesn’t she just rock? I love her blog and obviously she loves mine so spread the love and click her link to see her Coffee Book Tag and like that post because it’s fabulous (like her) and follow her blog because it’s just so halcyon and comely (like mine; and bonus points to you if you knew what those words that I just used to describe our blogs without having to look them up). So anyways, getting on with the tag. . .


The Coffee Book Tag

So I would just like to say I stole this pic from www.thebookiemonsters.wordpress.com so yeah. Don't sue me!

So I would just like to say I stole this pic from http://www.thebookiemonsters.wordpress.com so yeah. Don’t sue me!

Black: Name a series that’s tough to get into but has hardcore fans. 

Wow that’s hard. Um, I guess I would have to say. . . the Les Mis fandom. So I haven’t actually read it (but I got it on a recent book haul that I will post about when I get back to my bookshelf; don’t ask). But my friend is a die-hard Les Mis fan and I have to tell you guys that Les Miserables by Victor Hugo is a really huge thing with her. Like don’t ever insult it or question it around her. Especially Enjorlas- ooh, don’t even comment on him or about him him around her. It will not end well for you my friends. And there’s a Broadway production of it, and we book nerds know how hardcore the Broadway fandom scene is. 

This is actually the exact edition that I got at Walmart, so you go Google Images! :)

This is actually the exact edition that I got at Walmart, so you go Google Images! 🙂

Peppermint Mocha: Name a book that gets more popular during the winter or a festive time of the year.

Without a doubt, the first book that comes to my mind is Let It Snow by John Green, Maureen Johnson, and Lauren Myracle and I haven’t even read that yet. Just like, the YA bookish community and this book around Christmas time. My Reader page is always blowing up with reviews and raves about this fabulous book (I personally think it’s mainly because of John Green- no offense, I love John and all but seriously guys, we all know it’s probably just because of John Green you even picked that book up.)

*starts humming to self*

*starts humming to self* “Let it snow, let it snow, let it snow. . .”
Wait, it’s like July. And I’m also listening to The Nightmare Before Christmas soundtrack, so oops. (Yes, I’m that Disney nerd)

Hot Chocolate: What is your favorite children’s book?

Hmm, that’s really a toughie. I read so many books as a kid it’s hard to remember them all! I supposed I just have to say. . . The Magic Tree House Series by Mary Pope Osborne. Honestly these books are what have helped me become the writer and person I am today. A book about a magic tree house that time travels and is full of books and basically the book was that book that started my love of books and my fierce protectiveness over them. And also my obsession with books that are about books/have a nerdy or book obsessed character in them.

Double Shot of Espresso: Name a book that kept you on the edge of your seat from start to finish.

Oh, I guess Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince by J. K. Rowling. That book and my feels are not okay. I remember being absolutely and totally confused on whether or not I liked Snape and on the edge whether or not I trusted Snape or not and debating on whether or not I wanted to kill Snape or pull my hair out. And of course my step-dad kept trying to spoil it for me but he’s a total git most of the time- aaannnyyywwwaaayyysss…

*Sobs quietly and uglily in a corner in the distance* oh don't mind little 'Ol me over here- juST DYING OF FEELS AND JUST ASDFGHJKL; THIS BOOK.

*Sobs quietly and uglily in a corner in the distance* oh don’t mind little ‘Ol me over here- juST DYING OF FEELS AND JUST ASDFGHJKL; THIS BOOK.

Starbucks: Name a book you see everywhere.

Now I have to agree with Writing On A Vintage Typewriter here and say Paper Towns by John Green. But I do have to disagree with her on the fact that it is a somewhat homely looking book. I mean, the movie cover for the book is obviously a little different looking but I just kind of say whatever to that. I love her and all, but don’t judge a book by it’s cover right? I mean I’m not trying to bash her or anything, I’m just really protective because Paper Towns is probably my favorite John Green novel (sorry TFIOS).

I own the regular cover and I was talking about the movie cover (because that's what I've been seeing everywhere) and so yeah.

I own the regular cover and I was talking about the movie cover (because that’s what I’ve been seeing everywhere) and so yeah.

That Hipster Coffee Shop: Give a book by an indie author a shout-out.

This honestly took a moment. I had to think and realized that I read mostly the popular books these days and now I am questioning my nerdom cred. I mean I have books on my bookshelves that can be considered not-so-popular and all that but to be honest, I haven’t read those yet. So yeah. Anyways, I choose Inkheart by Cornelia Funke. I love this book and will love it until I die. It was translated from German and I am in love with everything about it and so yeah.

*squishes face up all weird* my baby

*squishes face up all weird* my baby

Oops! I accidentally god decaf: Name a book you were expecting more from.

Well this was easy: Matched by Ally Condie. It sucked total chicken feet. Just absolutely flopped. To be completely honest, most of the time I was either:

or

or

And it was all because of that whiny little priss of a main protagonist. Ugh, that girl. ( = _ = ) Couldn’t even read more than four chapters of the next book without wanting to throw up.

The Perfect Blend: Name a book or series that was both bitter and sweet, but ultimately satisfying.

For this one, I am going to have say Percy Jackson & the Olympians by Rick Riordan. Percy was an awesome narrator and all, but when I read these books I was a little nine year old kid who was easily angered and very mature for her age (*cough cough* I’m in love with myself *cough cough*) and whenever Percy made these stupid behind decisions, I couldn’t help but give the books those glares that I’d give the boys at lunch for trying to spill food- on purpose- onto my books. I was a picky kid, but in the end the Percy Jackson series opened my eyes to a whole new world and gave me a whole new outlook on life on what being a true hero really means.

Green Tea: Name a book or series that’s quietly beautiful.

This was painfully easy enough. It took me a moment, but after one quick glance to my bookshelf I now know: The Book Thief by Markus Zusak. I think this book has been in every single one of my book tags (or at least more than half of them) and it’s definitely for good reason. This book took my a while to read, but I have never regretted reading it. This book is a book that I will make sure all my children and grandchildren and (if I live to it) great grandchildren read. And my husband. And I mean, my like four friends have already read it and I’m working on my entire family, but basically this is a book that is perfect for reading inside, on a rainy day, snuggled up in blankets and such, while sipping on a warm cup of green tea (or anything warm, really.) Oh and make sure to have a small box of tissues ready for the end.

Chai Tea: Name a book or series that makes you dream of far-off places.

Ah, well this may be counted as a repeat but really I’m using the entire series instead of one book this time. And for this question I have to say the Harry Potter series by J. K. Rowling. Whenever I read these books I imagine being a witch and seeing dragons and meeting other magical folk and it always seems so far away when I imagine it, like a fog that’s showing me seeing just barely out of my reach. It’s sad, it truly is.

Earl Gray: Name your favorite classic.

Well I haven’t read all that many classics, but I’d have to say Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland by Lewis Carroll. ‘Nuff said.


Home is where your books are,

The Time Traveling Writer.

8 thoughts on “The Coffee Book Tag

  1. I like your answers. I adored the Magic Tree House books when I was younger. They were one of the first series that I could read alone. Then, and the Junie B. Jones books. And the thing the about cover of Paper Towns…I think I mostly don’t like it because it’s a pet peeve of mine that a book gets the poster for the movie adaption as a cover even when the original cover’s fantastic.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I loved the Junie B. Jones books! I had almost all of them, and a couple on audio-book, and I would take them with me everywhere. I drove my mum bonkers whenever I did that. And with Paper Towns thing, I totally get you! Sorry if it didn’t seem like that, but not all movie covers bother me that bad. Like others more some (*cough cough* Divergent and Insurgent *cough cough*). Sorry if I came off snarky or like I was calling you out. I would never want to come off like that! I love your blog and appreciate so much every time you tag me for something! Thank you for commenting!

      Like

  2. You described the Book Thief perfectly! Zusak’s using death the way he did was quite amazing, honestly, humour and all.
    I loved the Inkheart movie, havent read the series.
    And I just wish I could forget all i know about Harry and be able to live the suspense again :’)
    Great work.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I related to your answers about Paper Towns so much! Except in my case it’s, “the only reason you picked up a book is because John Green wrote it.”
    AND YES ABOUT MAGIC TREE HOUSE. Those books were my childhood.

    Like

  4. I really have to read The Book Thief! I’ve been hearing so much about it.
    And oh my god, I so agree with you on Matched! I finished the trilogy, but I couldn’t have read anything more mind-numbingly painful in my life. I really tried to like it, I just couldn’t. 😦 Anyway, great picks for this tag!

    Like

Leave a Reply

