Finding Audrey by Sophie Kinsella:: Book Review

Hello hermits! Long time no see, haha. So I realized when looking over my past book reviews that they legitimately suck and I don’t even know how or why my school newspaper used to let me write book reviews. So this round for my book reviews- this being a whole new Round 1- I’m trying out a different format for the review. So here goes nothing, and let’s get down to business!


Kins_9780553536515_jkt_all_r1.indd

Book Being Reviewed: Finding Audrey by Sophie Kinsella

Goodreads Synopsis: “An anxiety disorder disrupts fourteen-year-old Audrey’s daily life. She has been making slow but steady progress with Dr. Sarah, but when Audrey meets Linus, her brother’s gaming teammate, she is energized. She connects with him. Audrey can talk through her fears with Linus in a way she’s never been able to do with anyone before. As their friendship deepens and her recovery gains momentum, a sweet romantic connection develops, one that helps not just Audrey but also her entire family.”

Where I Bought It: Walmart!

When I Began Reading It: July 26th, 2015

Date I Finished It: July 30th, 2015

My Initial Reaction To Buying It: 

“Oh my gosh, oh my gosh, oh my gosh I got it I got the book Ohmyflippingchickennuggets THIS IS FANTASTIC I GOT THE BOOK.”

My Reaction When I First Started Reading It: 

“Ooh, how interesting. So she’s was bullied… Wait, why won’t you tell me…? I’m so confused. So the mom hasn’t pushed the computer out the window yet? Who’s he? Who’s she? Who are you? You’re British? Am I British? WHO AM I?”

My Reaction Once I Was Half-Way Through It: 

“Oh my Hades, please shut up. Why am I reading this? Awe, you’re cute together- wait. Did you just let him do that thing that people without anxiety do? Did you literally just let him tell you that you’re ‘cured’ all because you did one thing outside of your comfort zone without having a nervous breakdown. Oh my God, I just- I just can’t, like I am just so done with you right now.”

What I think of the characters:

Well, I have a lot of opinions and y’all know that. Usually I go with what most people think because that’s just how my mind works, but unlike most I really liked only three characters in this book: Audrey’s older brother, Frank; Audrey’s younger brother, Felix; and Audrey’s dad. Yup. The older brother who was way into gaming, the five year old who was pretty much the cutest thing, and the father of the protagonist. That’s about it.

Audrey, being the main character with anxiety who tells the story from a first person point of view,  at first I was willing to sympathize with and understand. She was bullied so badly that she could barely leave her home- something I’ve been close to myself. I wanted to hug her and tell her everything was okay, and part of me still does- but part of me also wants to whack her in the back of the head with a book.

I feel you Maka, I feel ya.

I mean, who with anxiety would honestly just let a person ask them if they were suddenly relieved of their anxiety just because they did one thing- ONE thing- out of their comfort zone and didn’t have a total mental breakdown. Like, um, excuse me what? I have anxiety and would bite off a person’s head (and I kind of already have) if they asked me like that. And I understand that not everybody is able to just explain these kinds of things to people- I get that. I’m not soulless (for the most part).

But what irked me the most was that she literally just smiled and went along with it. Not even a stony faced “no” or shrugging of the shoulders and suddenly changing the topic to stay off that topic- she just went straight to smiling and nodding along. Those are the kinds of things that will send me flying off the wall in anger. I can’t stand that. Maybe it’s because I’m a feminist; maybe it’s because I’m too cold-hearted and not understanding person; maybe it’s just because I’ve centered myself around action packed books that have no time for spineless girls who just nod along. But whatever the reason may be, when she did that, I knew that I would never be able to look at this book the same way.

And then Linus, the love interest, who asks Audrey this god awful question. Please tell me that this author did not choose one of my biggest childhood crushes and heroes to name this character after and that she just liked the name. Please. I beg of you. I mean, I guess he wasn’t too bad of a character, but he definitely wasn’t the comforting and understanding boyfriend love interest I thought he would be. Goodness.

And then the mother. I guess she wasn’t too bad, she was just a bit too eccentric for my liking. Just a bit, and that then leads me into the the plot.

What I think of the plot:

This book was very interesting, and I have to say I like the writing style of this author. I’ve never read any of her books before, but I have to say I was pretty impressed when I read this book. I really just wish though that she had given us more insight as to what exactly happened to Audrey when she was bullied. That’s left a very gray area and vague topic. Audrey never really explains and actually tell the reader she’s not going to talk about it because to her it’s not “important.” Well if you have anxiety and depression episodes over it honey, I think it’s kinda “important.”

I feel like this book was pretty good for a contemporary read on how teenagers can get anxiety and how they cope with it- a little unrealistic at times and sometimes a little over-dramatized, but whatever. I’m a very critiquing person, so it may not be as bad as I say it is, but these are just opinions. 

Now onto Linus and Audrey’s relationship. May I just say, “Awe… huh? I mean awe, like yeah it’s cute, but huh?” I was very confused at times with their relationship. They had really cute moments and I suppose he was kind of attractive (I keep imagining Linus from the Peanuts comics and movies I used to (and still do) watch and read as a kid whenever I think of this kid), but they’re relationship reminded me a bit too much of what the Homestuck fandom refers to as a black hearted romance (yes I am Homestuck trash and proud; I have a kid OC and a fantroll- deal with it).

This is where the relationship between lovers turns obsessive and controlling, with one lover, or even both, sometimes using physical violence or threats to keep others away from their significant other. Now obviously with Audrey and Linus being teenagers, nothing was too extreme and really nobody was controlling using violence or really even threats, but I’ll just quote the book here:

“Linus.” I nod. “He’s still Linus. He says hi, by the way.”

“Oh!” Dr. Sarah seems taken aback. “Well, say hi back.”

“And he says, ‘Good job.”

There’s a silence and a little smile creeps round Dr. Sarah’s face. “Well,” she says. “You can say that back to him too. I’d like to meet this Linus.”

“Yeah, well, don’t get your hopes up,” I say with a deadpan shrug. “He’s mine.”

So. . . yeah. She say that to her therapist, who has never shown any intentions or anything like what Audrey’s implying. I’ll just leave at that.

How Many Pusheen Cats eating apple pie I give for this book: 

3


So have you ever read this book? Did you enjoy it more than me? And if you haven’t, do you now plan on reading or have I scared you off? Tell me in comments!

Home is where your books are,

The Time Traveling Writer.

Leave a Reply

