(#1) Beautiful Books || November 2015

PAPERFURY

Hello, hello, hello my lovely little hermits! So as you may or may not know, back in July I joined the Beautiful People blogging meme for writers and authors alike. This is a wonderful thing I found on Cait @ Paper Fury’s website where she and Sky @ Further Up come up with questions for writers and authors to answer about their characters. But around this time of the month in honor of NaNoWriMo (which I just found our on the 10th means National Novel Writing Month) they ask us writers and authors about us and how we write! Aren’t they just blood fantastic? I love this and decided since I’ve been so terrible at partaking in these past 3 months, I should partake in this month’s and get some more blogging done. So let’s get down to business!

Please note: this is the first time I’ve ever done this, not the first time this has ever happened.


Is the book turning out how you thought it would be, or is it defying your expectations?

My book is actually quite alright at the moment; I think I’ll probably soon hit the “Oh my god why am I writing this I’ll never be an actual author who am I kidding I’m such a failure” stage of the writing process, but at the moments everything is running smoothly.

What’s your first sentence (or paragraph)?

Before the first light on Earth, there was Life and there was Death. There were, of course, others like them but usually they strayed from the pair for fear of Death killing them if angered and Life destroying their lives in any way she pleased if she became cross. One fear was understandable; the other was only impeding their doom in their selfish paranoia.

Are you a plotter or a pantser? Have you ever tried both methods and how did it turn out?

After looking up what a “pantser” is, I can mostly definitely say I’m a pantser! I mean, I mentally plot things, but when writing I can go all over the place. I think I’m going to write the scene where she gets killed, but instead she finds out a way to destroy the antagonist but can’t tell the protagonist because the antagonist is holding her sister ransom! (Cliche, I know- it was just an example.)

What do you reward yourself with after meeting a goal?

Food! All the foods and all the candies! Oh, and also sleep.

Because this is what I am usually like after meeting whatever crazy and extreme goal I made myself work to achieve until 3 am in the gosh darn morning. 

What do you look for in a name? Do you have themes and where do you find your names?

I look for a name that suits the character. I also like to be ironic. I have a character with the last name Utkin who’s Russian and really likes ducks; the irony here? Utkin is a Russian last name that means duck. Ha ha ha, I know right? Alright, so maybe it is a bad joke and not many people will ever get it and it’s kind of over-thought, but it makes me laugh and feel more clever than I actually am, okay? As for where I find my names, well I used to use the website Nameberry a lot, but these days I just use Google and look up what names have the meaning of what (e.g. What girl names mean strength; Old fashioned girl names; Japanese last names) and use whatever sites Google gives me. 

What is your favourite to write: beginning, middle, or end — and why?

Part of me wants to say the middle, because I usually have all of that planning out, but really that’s always the most frustrating part for me to get to because I never finish my beginning. I suppose I would have to say the beginning, because starter sentences are always the funnest to write, whether it be for the first page or the first each chapter.

Who’s your current favourite character in your novel?

Wow, that’s a toughie. I suppose I would have to say the main character, Ghost! She’s a half human-half Reaper, which are to basically put it children of Death (proper noun guys, meaning Death is an actual living-ish character in my book, and he’s probably my second favorite character). She’s a wild thing who’s obsessed with cats/cat puns, her scythe named Latte (named after her favorite type of coffee), pranks, sarcasm, and classical music. Oh, and killing things!

What kind of things have you researched for this project, and how do you go about researching? (What’s the weirdest thing you’ve researched?!)

Uh, this is gonna be fun. Russian last names, certain songs with lyric videos, Russian swear words, how to describe Meulin Leijon’s hair, pretty much all fears that exist, all mental illnesses that exist, so many different mythological creatures (apparently Scorpion Men are a thing?), and I don’t even know what else. I’m barely two chapters into writing, but I know for a fact weirder things will come with time.

Do you write better alone or with others? Do you share your work or prefer to keep it to yourself?

I’m okay with either-or I suppose. When I work around people I either never shut up about anything, whether it be what I’m writing or what I did three days ago that was absolutely HiLarIous, or I’m dead silent and totally absorbed in my work, knowing in the back of my mind that if I need help then my best friend is at the foot of the bed typing away or doing whatever in her own world, ready to help me out whenever I need it and vice versa. Whenever I work alone I tend to get off topic and go about traversing the mysteries and terrifying wonders of the internet while panicking on the inside over never finishing anything and never living to amount to anything or I go brain dead and type maybe five words an hour while staring blankly at the screen, sometimes crying. Well, I suppose it’s not always that bad… no, no it is. It’s always that bad.

And I have a legitimate problem with sharing my work with others. I give away spoilers, plot lines, character ideas, quotes, all of it. I’m terrible! Somebody needs to just slap a piece of duct tape over my mouth every time I start talking about it because somebody’s probably going to steal my ideas one day! 

What are your writing habits? Is there a specific snack you eat? Do you listen to music? What time of day do you write best? Feel free to show us a picture of your writing space!

Specific snack I eat? Ha, I eat everything and anything I can get my hands on! I am literally a never ending pit of junk food, soda, ice water (crushed! Only crushed ice!) and apple juice. Unless you take me out to eat; then I’m the pickiest and whiniest little kid you will ever see.

I listen to a lot of music and have some character’s theme songs on a playlist on my phone that I’ll listen to every now and then when I’m writing, but most of the time I just put my music on shuffle and jam out to whatever comes on.

Hmm, do I work best at a certain time of day? Yeah, probably at night on the weekends is when I get the most done and work my hardest but I still write pretty frequently on the weekdays during the afternoon. Hardly ever in the mornings though.

IMG_4195[1]

And this would be where my wonderful and wondrous writing magic happens! 🙂


Home is where your books are,

The Time Traveling Writer.

2 thoughts on “(#1) Beautiful Books || November 2015

  1. Ohh, I love Nameberry too! And I like little inside jokes in books, hehe, even if the author is the only one to appreciate them, but BAH. Who cares, right?! Writing is awesome. *beams* Omg, I hear ya with the food! FOOD. It’s so good. And your book is Russian?!? That is so so cool!!
    I totally enjoyed reading this, thanks for linking up!! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

